One must meet the medical qualifications to be eligible to apply and receive a disabled placard or license plate.

If your condition falls into one of the categories listed below, you are eligible for wheelchair symbol plates and a placard that give you special parking privileges.

  • Has lost the use of one or more limbs as a consequence of paralysis, amputation, or other permanent disability.
  • Is severely and permanently disabled and cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assistive device.
  • Suffers from lung disease to such an extent that the applicant’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty mm/hg on room air at rest; or uses portable oxygen.
  • Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the applicant’s functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association.
  • Is severely and permanently limited in the ability to walk because of an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition; or cannot walk two hundred feet without stopping to rest.
  • Has a permanent sight impairment of both eyes as certified by the N.J. Commission of the Blind (placard only).

I qualify! Now what?

If you meet any of these conditions, you can choose from one of three options:

  • One (1) set of wheelchair symbol license plates
  • One (1) person with a disability placard
  • One (1) set of plates and one placard

You will receive one set of wheelchair symbol license plates for a vehicle registered either to the qualified person with a disability OR to one family member who acts as the driver, providing the qualified person with transportation.

Ground rules

The Card is non-transferable. To show proof of disability, it must be with the disabled individual at all times, and the Person with a Disability Identification Card also must be in the vehicle or with the driver at all times. Any abuse or misuse of this privilege will be cause for immediate revocation of the ID card, placard and plates.

This is no joke! Under New Jersey law (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-4a), making false statements or providing misleading information on an application to obtain disability license plates or placards is a fourth degree crime with fines up to $10,000 and 18 months in prison.

Disability privileges are valid for three year from the first date of issue. After that time, a new application along with recertification by an approved medical practitioner must be submitted. The medical certification must be dated within 60 days of submitting your application. There is no fee to recertify.

How do I apply?

To apply for plates or a placard, complete the Application for Vehicle License Plates and/or Placard for Persons with a Disability (Form SP-41). There is no fee for either the license plates or the placard

This transaction can be completed by visiting a motor vehicle agency or submitting a request through the mail. If you choose to submit through the mail, send to:

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
Special Plate Unit
225 East State Street
PO Box 015
Trenton, NJ 08666-0015

A copy of the vehicle registration must be included with the plate application.

What if I don’t have a driver’s license?

If you do not have a driver’s license or non-driver identification (ID) card must prove identity by meeting the 6 Points of ID verification requirements.

What if I no longer qualify?

If you no longer qualify for the plates, you must surrender your wheelchair symbol plates and Person with a Disability Identification Card and apply for a new set of regular license plates at a motor vehicle agency.

Will I receive a renew notice?

You should receive a renew in the mail but if not, you may download the Application for Vehicle License Plates and/or Placard for Persons with a Disability (Form SP-41) and mail the completed application to:

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
Special Plate Unit
225 East State Street
PO Box 15
Trenton, NJ 08666-0015

There is more information to be found on the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission website including how to replace lost, stolen or damaged documents and information on temporary placards which are termed at 6 months.

Being disabled doesn’t mean you have to live life in the shadows! You have rights. Contact us today if you have any questions on disability or disability law.